Female Same-Sex Couple TTC Teacher

17 Apr

The basal body temperature thermometer its like being handed your high school class scheudle your first day of high school. Now you feel like a true high schooler but you then remember that you are only a freshmen and there is so much more to come. Well I finally purchased a basal body temperature thermometer this past week and have officially began charting.

Oh, now thats a body temp chart!

So,  I realized that I really needed to start charting. I guess I have been so caught up in having to get a lot of things in line legally to start TTC that I totally forgot about charting. So Charlie and I stopped by our neighborhood pharmacy to purchase a basal body temperature thermometer. Charlie wanted to wait in the car while I went in to purchase the item.

When I got inside I couldn’t find the basal body temperature thermometer with the other thermometer. So I went to the pharmacist and asked if they had one. I informed them that their website states that its available and in the store. So one of the pharmacist tells me that I need to look in the family planning section. As I head over there I see the thermometer; all of a sudden a voices says “so do you really want to get pregnant?” I turn around to find the pharmacist a nice middle-aged woman standing right behind. I replied with a “yes” then the conversation went as follows:

Her: Well, you are going to have to put in work? It could take up to a year for you to get pregnant. What you need to is have sex every other day because the man needs time for his sperm to build up. After sex put your butt up on a pillow and lay there for about 15 minutes.

Me: Ummm….OK. Can you unlock this so that I can purchase one of the thermometer’s?

Her: Don’t tell anyone that I told you this. But when my husband and I were trying it got to the point that I was just like “oh baby yeah hurt me do it.” I just wanted him to get off so I could prop my butt up and hope for a baby. And after a year I was pregnant.

Me: Blank Stare

Her: So get ready for some work; you may even lose a little weight before the baby gets here.

*She now unlocks the cabinet and hands me one of the basal body temperature thermometer’s*

Her: You know that charting isn’t really going to help. Because you can ovulate at anytime just have sex every other day and you’ll be fine.

I quickly took the thermometer and walked away. That could have been a really good time to school her on the fact that not all charting women are participating in heterosexual sex. But I wasn’t in the mood so I left it at that. I know that I will see her again so I will have another opportunity to play Female Same-Sex Couple TTC Teacher.

3 Responses to “Female Same-Sex Couple TTC Teacher”

  1. Yin! April 18, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Wow just wow! Lol not only did she provide way too much info she took the general assumption that everyone is straight, lol don’t you just love it. I probably would’ve interrupted and asked her could you just get the bbt I’m in a hurry to start having all this sex or something equally as sarcastic.

  2. Crazy Lesbian Mom April 20, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    Wow. Just… wow.

  3. tinyblossom April 20, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I was horrified reading this. WTH? It’s enough that she gave you unsolicited medical advice, but to tell you that you’re wasting your time with temping AND making heterosexist assumptions is going way too far. I hope you can find an appropriate time to educate her in the future…

Leave a Reply

