Day 2: High School

3 Jun

Question: Describe your high school self.  What extracurricular activities, if any, did you participate in during high school?

My high school self was angry, sad, frustrated, and ready to move from home. I grew up in a small desert town in California; I dealt with a lot of racism while at that school. I was chased and beat up by a group of boys once (they spit on me and pulled out my hair), I was told that I wasn’t a girl but a nigger, and I was told that I was a fat ass. Needless to say I hated high school.

My whole goal was to go to college and never move back. I’m proud to say that I have done just that. I wasn’t allowed to do too much hanging out in high school. My freshman year I was in the band, my whole four years of high school I was in the Air Force JROTC (I loved it), and I participated in the talent show my sophomore year.

As you can see my high school years were not that fun.

5 Responses to “Day 2: High School”

  1. Jen June 3, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Holy crap me. I cannot believe your experience was so bad- that is very sad to me. How can people be that cruel?

  2. QueerLifeInTheCity June 3, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Exactly Jen. It’s so scary that children act that way. They’re not born with that kind of hatred. It’s cultivated in them by some very scary grown ups. Yikes. I’m sorry your experience was so terrible. I was lucky enough to grow up in a very diverse city so I’ve never experienced that but my heart breaks for “high school you”.

  3. Kara June 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    That is TERRIBLE. So glad you moved out of there and are living a lovely life. 🙂

  4. strawberry June 3, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Wow, that’s so awful. I’m sorry 😦

  5. glamcookie June 3, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    How horrible. Glad you got the hell out of there.

Leave a Reply

