Our Happy New Year

5 Jan

The end of my 2011 and the beginning of my 2012 has been hard, trying, and stressful. We drove to visit my In-Laws and when we got there my wife’s right leg was hurting really bad. It was a 13 hour drive and she assumed that it was a muscle strain. The whole week that we were there she wasn’t feeling really tired, her leg was hurting, and she was really short of breath sometimes.

On the drive back home her leg was hurting even more. When we got home she could barely walk and she seemed really really tired. So I helped her up the stairs. The next morning she was complaining about a rash under her arm so she made a doctors appointment. I urged her to tell the doctor about her leg; she argued with me about how doctors don’t like when you bring up stuff that you didn’t make the appointment for. I told her that if she didn’t tell the doctor I would take her to urgent care.

While at the doctor my wife didn’t want to say anything about her leg hurting. However, remembering what I said she told the doctor. Well our doctor wanted her to go to the hospital to have a vascular ultrasound. So I made her drive home so I could take her to the hospital. Well we found out that my wife had two blood clots in her right leg. She ended up being taken to the emergency room. When we got there they did a scan of her chest and found out that she had a pulmonary embolism in her right lung. With that she was admitted into the hospital. My mother-in-law flew into town and spent time with us in the hospital.

My wife has been home for a few days and I have been spending my new year cherishing life and our tomorrow.

image

 

7 Responses to “Our Happy New Year”

  1. A January 4, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Oh my! She is VERY lucky! Blid clots are nothing to mess with! So glad all is OK!!

  2. Kara January 5, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Oh no!!! So glad she is ok. My mom has a blood disease which causes chronic blood clots in her lungs… it can be scary. Did the docs give any indication as to whether or not this will ongoing or just a one time occurance?

    • weddedwife January 5, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      They haven’t lets us know anything like that…we have another appointment on monday so I will try to find out then.

  3. Michaela January 5, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    OMG!! So glad you made her tell the doctor!! Fingers are crossed that everything was just a one time scare.

  4. prettyisa January 5, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    oh my gosh! I’m so glad you caught that in time! Never, ever, ever ignore those kinds of pain (though obviously you know that now!) !! I’m glad she’s doing well!

  5. Shannon January 9, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    It is good to hear things were caught early. We will keep you and your wife in our thouhts and prayers.

  6. hersandhers January 27, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Glad to hear that the blood clots were found early. Praying that all turns out well.

Leave a Reply

