Two Week Wait Update

27 Feb

I went to the doctor’s office this past Saturday to have progesterone blood work done. My results came in that afternoon.

Good News: I had a good ovulation this cycle

Bad News: My progesterone levels are 9.3 and they want to see them at 15.

Progesterone is a female sex hormone that is secreted by the corpus luteum to prepare the endometrium for implantation of the fertilized egg. Following implantation off the egg, the developing placenta signals the body to produce progesterone and prevent rejection of the developing embryo or fetus. Without this continuing progesterone production, the endometrium would shed and menstruation would ensue. Therefore, progesterone plays a significant role in reproduction. Thus, progesterone…

  • Helps create a fertile, warm environment in the womb and promotes the survival of the fertilized egg through healthy implantation.
  • Strengthens and maintains the secretory endometrium which sustains the embryo throughout pregnancy.
  • Prevents the premature shedding of the secretory endometrium (menstruation).

As progesterone forestalls the shedding of the endometrium (where embryo implantation occurs), low progesterone levels – or a significant drop in progesterone levels – during the first few weeks of pregnancy may correspond with miscarriage. – Taken from http://www.ovulation-calculator.com/preconception/progesterone.htm

I have been prescribed 200 MG of oral Prometrium to be taken vaginally twice a day. Needless to say this is awkward but it’s what I must do during this process.

11 Responses to “Two Week Wait Update”

  1. Flying Mermaid February 27, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Ohh, BeeBoo, got my fingers crossed (and I know you got your legs crossed)!

    XX

  2. isa February 28, 2012 at 12:54 am #

    Gross, huh? But worth it!

    • weddedwife February 28, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Yeah. My nurse said that if I am pregnant I will probably need to do this for the first 8-10 weeks of pregnancy.

      • Flying Mermaid February 28, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

        Well, for someone who’s been on birth control most of her life, I reckon that ain’t the end of the world.

  3. Tinyblossom February 28, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    So sorry you have to deal with these nasty little pills (and the side effects). Whatever it takes to support a pregnancy and healthy womb though!

  4. An offering of love February 28, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Ugh. A gross, but sometimes necessary, evil. It’s great it was caught so early, my clinic doesn’t test mid-tww.

    • weddedwife February 28, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

      Well that makes me feel better because I was thinking that they should have tested me before my IUI.

  5. Lex February 29, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    I’ve been thinking about you! So sorry about the pills, but as many have said – worth it!

    • weddedwife February 29, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      I’ve been thinking about you too. This wait is crazy.

Leave a Reply

