An Update

7 Aug

Well I have been gone for a while. If I still have readers I apologize. This has been an interesting time for me. I would like to explain what happened in the most recent past.

During my last insemination we all saw that I received a faint positive on my HPT. The blood test showed that I was not pregnant. Well, my period was very late. I kept calling my nurse and telling her that my period hadn’t arrived. She never called me back. I started spotting but there was no flow like a period.

A few days after the spotting began – while sitting at work in my white leather desk chair – I felt a really sharp pain and then my period came on full blast. It was HORRIBLE!

It happened around 11 AM; when everyone was around my desk. I had to wait till people left for lunch which was around 12:40 PM to be able to get up clean up the chair and run to the restroom. I called my wife crying like crazy. I didn’t know what was wrong.

My wife had to come and pick me up from work. She went to the store and bought me new pants, underwear, and baby wipes. I called my nurse and finally received a call back from my doctor. I told her what happened and she was frustrated that my nurse didn’t tell me that my beta level was low and would probably result in a chemical pregnancy.

I was extremely pissed. If I had know that I would have been prepared and wore something more than a regular absorbency pad.  The doctor informed me that the nurse I was dealing with had been “let go” due to her lack of follow through with several clients. I scheduled to meet with my doctor in May.

Charlie and I meet with the doctor to discuss a new course of action. During my next insemination I will be utilizing medication and monitoring. So we will see how this goes. I decided to take the summer off. So our next insemination will be towards the end of August or we will just wait till September.

_______

On another note:

I got a great stroller this past weekend at a garage sale – I couldn’t pass it up.

Image

It’s a Peg-Perego Pliko Switch in Pois Black. I loved this stroller when I was nanny. One of the kids that came to the play group I went to had one of these and I just loved it. The one I purchased was still in the box.

The previous owners got it as a gift. When they took it out the box they didn’t like it because it was black. So they went and bought a blue one for their son. I got it for $100. When my wife saw it she was upset with me – she thought I spent too much money. Well, I had a few friends over with kids and they were so proud of me. They explained to Charlie that I got a GREAT deal and that you could tell it had never been used. I was validated.

13 Responses to “An Update”

  1. flyingmermaidemily August 7, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Ohh, BeeBoo, I’m so sorry you had to go through that! Glad, at least, that the nurse was let go!

  2. glamcookie August 7, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    How terrible for you. I’m so sorry. Also glad the nurse got let go. That is inexcusable. That is an awesome deal on that stroller. Fingers crossed that a BFP is in your very near future! Hugs.

  3. Baby Mama, too. August 7, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the sh1tty follow up frim your nurse and the chemical pregnancy… Great deal on the stroller, I would look into the model and make sure it is not part of a large recall issued recently. If it is you should be able to get a repkacement tray that corrects the issue.

    • weddedwife August 8, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      I checked that out prior to my purchase. The version that I purchased does not have a recall. 🙂

  4. lezbemoms August 8, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    I can’t believe that nurse! I just sat here and ranted about it to my wife… that’s ridiculous (and okay, I’m a little hormonal at the moment). Jeeze! Glad she was let go and you no longer have to deal with her.

    On the plus side, awesome deal on the stroller!!!!!!

    • weddedwife August 8, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your feelings with me. I was really upset but I totally appreciate the way that the doctor handled it. I’m getting my mind mentally prepared to start trying again.

  5. Lex August 8, 2012 at 5:07 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear that. I hope the next month or two are restful and that you are roaring to go for next time.

  6. Olive August 8, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear this – both about the terrible nurse and your loss. I hope your next try is with a great new protocol and has the ultimate outcome!

  7. beginningfromthestart August 9, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    That sounds like a horrible experience. It’s terrible to know that people who show so little concern are working in a field where sensitivity and communication are so vital.

    • weddedwife August 10, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      When I answered the phone to find out that I wasn’t pregnant she was mid-laughter

Leave a Reply

