Up All Night

20 May

Last night after dinner I started having this pain in my lower back. It hasn’t really gone away just gets a little stronger. Along with this pain I ended vomiting and having some tightness in my belly.

I woke up around 2 am due to the discomfort. It’s not pain just discomfort. I’m trying not to get nervous and not to assume anything. I’m only 35 weeks and 1 day to be exact. I have no idea how to gauge and articulate what I’m feeling.

I’m waiting to call my doctor once her office opens this morning and we will go from there. I want to avoid a trip to the hospital.

So my question is what so contractions feel like? How do you know when to be concerned?

5 Responses to “Up All Night”

  1. Baby Mama, too. May 20, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Not sure how helpful I can be but, I have been having Brax.ton Hicks for weeks. To me it is generally a painless tightening in my abdomen and my belly feels like a basketball has been shoved under my skin. Recently, I assume as baby grows and is stretching out more, they are accompanied wth some discomfort and my round ligament pains have really ramped up as well. Generally, back pain can be a sign of early labor, if it is a new symptom for you. I would definately put that call in to your doc, just to be safe.

  2. Emily Fisher May 20, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    Certainly Braxton Hicks is not unusual at 35 weeks, but I’m assuming you’ve been to the doctor by now, so am eagerly awaiting some news…….

  3. Rachael May 21, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Unfortunately, every time I asked what contractions felt like, someone told me “You will know.” except I didn’t know.

    So, I will tell you that the only way that I can describe it is intense menstrual cramps. Your stomach will likely tense up, in the beginning stages, it probably won’t hurt too much but it depends on your pain tolerance. I did the ‘silent cry’, but I had also been up for 24 hours before hand. Anyway! They felt like a wave of intense pressure in my abdomen that would come in slowly, hold steadily intense, and then fade out again for a few minutes.

    Hope that helps!

    • weddedwife May 21, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      That’s what was happening.

      • Rachael May 23, 2013 at 12:30 am #

        You’re far enough along, it was probably Braxton Hicks contractions then. Your body is just getting ready, mama!

Leave a Reply

